English

  • NAME POSITION EMAIL EXTENSION
    Sarah Cox English Department Head scox 3074
    Shelley Abreu English Teacher sabreu 5342
    Carolyn Carr English Teacher ccarr 5309
    Erin Griffin English Teacher egriffin 5123
    Leslie Richmond English Teacher lrichmond 5269
    Daria Kasparian English Teacher dkasparian 5198
    Lauren Kenny English Teacher lkenny 5216
    Karyn Kuhn English Teacher kkuhn 5215
    Danielle Phipps English Teacher dphipps 5245
    Barbara Stephens English Teacher bstephens 5252

    Four years of English (16 credits) are required for graduation. As you make your course selections, be sure to include an English course, and be certain that this course is appropriate for you, given your ability, interests, and post-high school plans. You will find the courses grouped under the following designations: College Preparatory (CP1 & CP2), Honors (H), and Advanced Placement (AP). In addition, you will find English elective courses listed the Program of Studies.

    It is important to note that all English courses are designed to teach communications skills, particularly skills involving reading, writing, speaking, and listening. In addition, these courses feature close reading and critical thinking activities as well as a balanced approach to writing that includes on-demand and process writing for a variety of audiences and purposes. Some courses feature heterogeneous grouping as well as cooperative and collaborative learning. Other courses, primarily because of their core reading and writing assignments, feature a more homogeneous approach. Consult with your teacher and guidance counselor about these differences and how they might affect your course selections.

Last Modified on October 15, 2018