Special Education

  • Special Education Logo

    NAME POSITION EMAIL PHONE
    Dr. Joan Woodward Director of Student Services jwoodward@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-0151 x143
    Audra Reilly Falmouth High School Special Education Building Admininstrator areilly@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 540-2200 x3017
    Kathleen Pokraka Falmouth High School Special Education  Secretary kpokraka@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 540-2200 x3017
    Dr. Margaret Valdes Lawrence Special Education Building Administrator mvaldes@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-0606 x545
    Debra Lynch Lawrence Guidance-Special Education Secretary  dlynch@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-0606 x503
    Katelyn Hergt Morse Pond Special Education Building Administrator khergt@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-7300 x403
    Vickie Taylor Morse Pond Special Education Secretary vtaylor@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-7300 x403
    Anne Barnes East Falmouth Special Education Building Administrator jphelan@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-1052 x7202
    Lucia DaSilva East Falmouth Special Education Secretary ldasilva@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-1052 x7201
    Anne-Marie Iandoli Mullen-Hall School Special Education Building Administrator aiandoli@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-0220 x416
    Francine Daggett Mullen-Hall School Special Education Secretary fdaggett@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-0220 x402
    Denise Larner North Falmouth Assistant Principal / Special Education Building Administrator dlarner@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 563-2334 x302
    Venera Cocks North Falmouth School Special Education Secretary vcocks@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 563-2334 x301
    Megan Conant Teaticket School Assistant Principal/ Special Education Building Administrator mconant@falmouth.k12.ma.u (508) 548-1550 x110
    Brooke McCarthy Teaticket School Speical Education Secretary bmccarthy@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-1550 x101

    The goal of the Special Education  Department is that all students are educated in classrooms that accommodate their diverse learning needs, styles and abilities. Differential instruction, modified environments, adaptive equipment and the full use of technology are the norms. Acceptance of all differences is paramount and seen as enriching the community of learners as well as the community at large.

    Effective and efficient special education services are provided in an array of programs ranging from inclusion in the general education classroom to partially and substantially separate settings as appropriate to meet the needs of eligible students. Specially designed instruction and related services are readily available to help disabled students benefit from special education. 

    Identification of children at risk is made through regular screening. Diagnosis for special education eligibility determination is completed by highly trained staff who are members of a multidisciplinary education team. Programmatic recommendations are then forthcoming. 

    Parents are full partners in educational decision making for their children. They have knowledge of educational options, resources to contact regarding any questions they may have, and participate as active members in the Special Education Parent Advisory Council (SEPAC). Partnering with collateral agencies allows the schools to provide programs to homeless or transient children.

    For further information about the Special Needs services available, please contact the Special Education Building Administrator at your childs' school.

Last Modified on September 9, 2019