Special Education

  • Special Education Logo

    NAME POSITION EMAIL PHONE
    Dr. Joan Woodward Interim Director of Student Services jwoodward@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-0151 x143
    Teresa Nelson Falmouth High School SPED Building Admin tnelson@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 540-2200 x3017
    Kathleen Pokraka Falmouth High Interim SPED  Secretary kpokraka@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 540-2200 x3017
    Dr. Margaret Valdes Lawrence SPED Building Administrator mvaldes@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-0606 x545
    Debra Lynch Lawrence Guidance/SPED  Secretary  dlynch@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-0606 x503
    Katelyn Hergt Morse Pond SPED Building Administrator khergt@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-7300 x403
    Vickie Taylor Morse Pond SPED Secretary vtaylor@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-7300 x403
    Julie Phelan East Falmouth Assistant Principal / SEBA jphelan@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-1052 x7202
    Lillilan Lomba East Falmouth SPED Secretary llomba@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-1052 x7201
    Anne-Marie Iandoli Mullen-Hall SPED Building Administrator aiandoli@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-0220 x416
    Francine Daggett Mullen-Hall SPED Secretary fdaggett@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-0220 x402
    Denise Larner North Falmouth Assistant Principal / SEBA dlarner@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 563-2334 x302
    Venera Cocks North Falmouth SPED Secretary vcocks@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 563-2334 x301
    Sandy Kapsambelis Teaticket Assistant Principal / SEBA skapsambelis@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-1550 x110
    Brooke McCarthy Teaticket SPED Secretary bmccarthy@falmouth.k12.ma.us (508) 548-1550 x101

    The goal of the Special Education  Department is  that all students are educated in classrooms that accommodate their diverse learning needs, styles and abilities. Differential instruction, modified environments, adaptive equipment and the full use of technology are the norms. Acceptance of all differences is paramount and seen as enriching the community of learners as well as the community at large.

    Effective and efficient special education services are provided in an array of programs ranging from inclusion in the general education classroom to partially and substantially separate settings as appropriate to meet the needs of eligible students. Specially designed instruction and related services are readily available to help disabled students benefit from special education. 

    Identification of children at risk is made through regular screening. Diagnosis for special education eligibility determination is completed by highly trained staff who are members of a multidisciplinary education team. Programmatic recommendations are then forthcoming. 

    Parents are full partners in educational decision making for their children. They have knowledge of educational options, resources to contact regarding any questions they may have, and participate as active members in the Special Education Parent Advisory Council (SEPAC). Partnering with collateral agencies allows the schools to provide programs to homeless or transient children.

    For further information about the Special Needs services available, please contact the Special Education Building Administrator at your childs' school.

Last Modified on August 15, 2018