Grade 10 Summer Reading List

  • Purpose: The Summer Reading Program encourages students to enjoy, think about, and evaluate what they read.

    Reading/Writing Requirements: Summer reading is worth up to 10% of your first-quarter grade. Read the book closely and be prepared to respond to a long composition prompt during the first week of school in September.

    • CP1 and CP 2 students choose one book from the list below.
    • Honors students must read J. D. Salinger’s The Catcher in the Rye and one book from the list below, and must complete journals for both books, due the first week of school in September (journal assignment is handed out in the spring and is available on the FHS website).

    EXTRA CREDIT for CP students: You may earn extra credit by reading a second book from this list and keeping a journal using the summer reading journal prompts (journal assignment is handed out in the fall and is available on the FHS website). For your second book evaluation, you may be asked to respond in a variety of ways.

    Acevedo, Elizabeth: The Poet X (a novel in verse)

    Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

    Anderson, Laurie Halse: Catalyst

    In a novel that confronts the conundrum of young adult life, Kate manages her life by organizing it as logically as the periodic table.  She can handle it all, or so she thinks. By the author of Speak.

    Austen, Jane: Sense and Sensibility

    The Dashwood sisters struggle to maintain their integrity and find happiness while courting. A classic first published in 1811 but still popular today.

    Bardugo, Leigh: Six of Crows

    A thrilling tale of double-crosses, buried secrets, and one fantastical heist. Bardugo drops readers right into the midst of her richly imagined fantasy world and the lives of a dynamic team of thieves, artfully weaving details and backstories throughout the speedy plot.

    Blais, Madeleine: In These Girls Hope is a Muscle: A True Story of Hoop Dreams and One Very Special Team

    A Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist tells the story of an Amherst, Massachusetts high school girls Basketball team’s championship season. Nonfiction.

    Canada, Geoffrey: Fist, Stick, Knife, Gun: A Personal History of Violence in America 

    A memoir of coming of age in the South Bronx; teenagers deal with the terrible consequences that adult violence has brought to their world.

    Coy, John:  Crackback

    Always a starter on his high school football team, Miles changes his life’s direction after a new coach takes over.

    Doerr, Anthony: All the Light We Cannot See

    The beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant New York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II.

    Gaines, Ernest: A Lesson Before Dying

    This is the heart-wrenching story of a condemned man learning to read from a young teacher.  It contains powerful reflections on education, racism, punishment, and the meaning of humanity.

    Green, John: Turtles All the Way Down

    Sixteen-year-old Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hundred-thousand-dollar reward at stake and her Best and Most Fearless Friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. So together, they navigate the short distance and broad divides that separate them from Russell Pickett’s son, Davis. Aza is trying. She is trying to be a good daughter, a good friend, a good student, and maybe even a good detective, while also living within the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts.

    Grisham, John: The Summons

    Grisham tells the tale of law Professor Ray Atlee’s dilemma when he stumbles upon millions in his dead father’s Mississippi home. A legal thriller.

    Joravsky, Ben: Hoop Dreams

    The desperate, and usually impossible, dream of making it in professional sports is exposed with heartbreaking truthfulness.  It is the story of Chicago high school basketball and dreams of the NBA.

    Krosocza, Jarrett: Hey, Kiddo

    In kindergarten, Jarrett Krosoczka's teacher asks him to draw his family, with a mommy and a daddy. But Jarrett's family is much more complicated than that. His mom is an addict, in and out of rehab, and in and out of Jarrett's life. His father is a mystery. Jarrett lives with his grandparents -- two very loud, very loving, very opinionated people who had thought they were through with raising children until Jarrett came along. A profoundly important memoir about growing up in a family grappling with addiction, and finding the art that helps you survive.

    Lake, Nick: In Darkness

    Shorty, 15, is in a Haitian hospital with a bullet in his arm when the walls fall down during an earthquake. As he waits for help, drinking blood to try to quench his thirst, he remembers how he got to the hospital and the haunting gang violence he witnessed in the slums. His story is interwoven with the historical narrative of Toussaint L’Ouverture, a slave who fought for emancipation in the 18th century.

    Oates, Joyce Carrol: Foxfire

    Maddie, the chronicler of the girl gang Foxfire, returns to the notebooks of her former gang and revisits the experiences of gang leader, Leggs, raising questions of gender, social status, and coming of age.

    Rowling, J.K. as Robert Galbraith: Cuckoo’s Calling

    A brilliant debut mystery in a classic vein: Detective Cormoran Strike investigates a supermodel's suicide. You may think you know detectives, but you've never met one quite like Strike. You may think you know about the wealthy and famous, but you've never seen them under an investigation like this.

    Saenz, Benjamin Alire: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

    Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime.

    Salisbury, Graham: Eyes of the Emperor

    Sixteen year-old Eddie Okubo lies about his age and joins the Army during World War II; he is not prepared for the problems he encounters as a Japanese-American in the United States military in 1942.

    Tan, Amy: The Joy Luck Club

    Four mothers, four daughters, four families whose histories shift with the four winds depending on who's "saying" the stories. In 1949 four Chinese women, recent immigrants to San Francisco, begin meeting to eat dim sum, play mahjong, and talk. United in shared unspeakable loss and hope, they call themselves the Joy Luck Club. Rather than sink into tragedy, they choose to gather to raise their spirits and money. Forty years later the stories and history continue.

    Zhang, Amy: Falling into Place

    One cold fall day, high school junior Liz Emerson steers her car into a tree. This haunting and heartbreaking story is told by a surprising and unexpected narrator and unfolds in nonlinear flashbacks even as Liz's friends, foes, and family gather at the hospital and Liz clings to life. This riveting novel will appeal to fans of Before I Fall, by Lauren Oliver, and 13 Reasons Why, by Jay Asher.

    Zoboi, Ibi: American Street

    On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. An evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

Last Modified on June 11, 2019