Falmouth School Committee

  • School Committee Group Photo
    *Not pictured - Michael Heylin

    To email the entire committee, use schoolcommittee@falmouth.k12.ma.us

    Member Term Expiration
    Natalie Kanellopoulos, Chairperson 2024
    Andrea Thorrold, Vice-Chair 2023
    Melissa Keefe, Secretary 2025
    Michael Heylin 2025
    Terri Medeiros 2023
    Kelly Welch 2024
    Leah Palmer 2023
    Margaret Souza 2025
    William Dorfner 2024

    Making decisions to fulfill the educational needs of children is the primary responsibility with which the citizens entrust the school committee.

    Under education reform, the school committee deliberates on a range of issues and concerns at a broad policy level, such as:

    • System-wide goals
    • Policy development
    • Hiring and evaluating the Superintendent of Schools
    • Community relations
    • Budget review and approval
    • Health and safety
    • Curriculum approval
    • Collective bargaining

    We will work to improve our instruction, leadership, operations and finance so all students are engaged in their education in a way that develops their capacity to pursue their goals and fosters life-long learning.

Last Modified on February 14, 2023